Division of Energy & Mineral Resources

Mining Program

Home / Energy & Mineral Resources / Mining Program

Who We Are

E&E’s Mining Program regulates the mining of coal and other mineral resources in Arkansas to ensure that the state’s environment is protected and properties are returned to beneficial use after mining operations have ceased.

Mining staff includes geologists, engineers, and inspectors who are responsible for issuing permits and authorizations to coal mining operations, aggregate quarries, and sand and gravel operations in the state. The Mining Program also administers the U.S. Department of Interior’s Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Program and Abandoned Mine Lands Reclamation Program in Arkansas.

Kevin White

Program Manager, Mining Program

"We administer two programs of the United States Department of Interior within Arkansas: the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Program and the Abandoned Mine Lands Reclamation Program. Our office regulates the mining of coal and other mineral resources, such as gravel and sand, to protect the environment during mining and returns mined lands to beneficial use after operations shut down."

AR Will Benefit from Increased Demand for Lithium

AR Will Benefit from Increased Demand for Lithium

The fascination with Arkansas’s diamond mines soon may be matched with interest in its bromine brines. A state-of-the-art facility is already extracting lithium—a critical mineral for the production of batteries and electronics—from bromine brines produced from the Jurassic Smackover Formation.
DEQ Leadership
DEMR Leadership

Questions or Comments?

Colbie Jones

Associate Environment Administrator, Division of Environmental Quality

Stacie Wassell

Associate Director, Office of Water Quality

Lucy Cross

Enterprise Services Director, Enterprise Services

Jarrod Zweifel

Associate Director, Office of Land Resources

Demetria Kimbrough

Associate Director, Office of Air Quality

Lawrence Bengal

Chief Administrator of Energy and Director, Oil & Gas Commission

Andrea Hopkins

Associate Energy Administrator, Division of Energy & Mineral Resources, Emergency Management

Scott Ausbrooks

Director, Office of the State Geologist

Kevin Pfalser

Director, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board

Mitchell Simpson

Director, Arkansas Energy Office

Kevin White

Program Manager, Mining Program

Report an Emergency

If you are reporting a spill, leak, geohazard event, release of petroleum products, hazardous materials, or gases that requires an immediate emergency response, please call the:

Arkansas Division of Emergency Management

Then contact the Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment:

E&E Emergency Management

If after hours, please leave a message. Your call will be returned.

Contact Us

NOTE: Giving us your name, address, phone number, and/or email address is optional. Please note that your information, including your voluntary contact information, questions, or comments, becomes public record subject to public disclosure under the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act.

"*" indicates required fields

Provide detailed information and include the URL for any Web references.