Division of Energy & Mineral Resources

Arkansas Energy Office

Who We Are

The Arkansas Energy Office (AEO) promotes energy efficiency, clean technology, and sustainable strategies that encourage economic development, energy security, and the environmental well-being of Arkansas’s businesses, communities, and citizens.

AEO has oversight of assistance programs like the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program and initiatives such as Arkansas Energy Performance Contracting. In addition, AEO administers Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust funded opportunities, including the Level 2 Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Rebate Program and the DC Fast Charge Funding assistance Program.

Mitchell Simpson

Director, Arkansas Energy Office

"We offer assistance to businesses, communities, and individuals through residential and commercial energy codes, energy performance contracting, as well as education and training on energy efficiency. Through partnerships we promote the use of alternative fuels for transportation, energy technology loans, low-income energy and utility assistance, weatherization assistance, funding for electric vehicle infrastructure, and other initiatives."

AR Will Benefit from Increased Demand for Lithium

AR Will Benefit from Increased Demand for Lithium

The fascination with Arkansas’s diamond mines soon may be matched with interest in its bromine brines. A state-of-the-art facility is already extracting lithium—a critical mineral for the production of batteries and electronics—from bromine brines produced from the Jurassic Smackover Formation.
DEQ Leadership
DEMR Leadership

Questions or Comments?

Bailey Taylor

Interim Division of Environmental Quality Director and Chief Administrator of Environment

Colbie Jones

Associate Environment Administrator, Division of Environmental Quality

Stacie Wassell

Associate Director, Office of Water Quality

Lucy Cross

Enterprise Services Director, Enterprise Services

Demetria Kimbrough

Associate Director, Office of Air Quality

Bryan Leamons

Associate Director, Office of Land Resources

Lawrence Bengal

Chief Administrator of Energy and Director, Oil & Gas Commission

Andrea Hopkins

Associate Energy Administrator, Division of Energy & Mineral Resources, Emergency Management

Scott Ausbrooks

Director, Office of the State Geologist

Kevin Pfalser

Director, Liquefied Petroleum Gas Board

Mitchell Simpson

Director, Arkansas Energy Office

Kevin White

Program Manager, Mining Program

Report an Emergency

If you are reporting a spill, leak, geohazard event, release of petroleum products, hazardous materials, or gases that requires an immediate emergency response, please call the:

Arkansas Division of Emergency Management

Then contact the Arkansas Department of Energy and Environment:

E&E Emergency Management

If after hours, please leave a message. Your call will be returned.

Contact Us

NOTE: Giving us your name, address, phone number, and/or email address is optional. Please note that your information, including your voluntary contact information, questions, or comments, becomes public record subject to public disclosure under the Arkansas Freedom of Information Act.

"*" indicates required fields

Provide detailed information and include the URL for any Web references.

Severe Weather: Donate to the Arkansas Disaster Relief Program